2010 Maxwell Scholars Announced

By Lainey S. Cronk on May 21, 2010

Share this


Early this week Pacific Union College announced the winners of its prestigious and recently established Maxwell Scholar Program. The five winners and five semi-finalists, coming from as far apart as Maryland and California, have been selected for their high academic achievement, a commitment to Christian service, and outstanding leadership skills. The $15,000 renewable scholarship means winners receive up to $60,000 in scholarship funds over the course of their four years at PUC.

These students constitute the second group recognized by the Maxwell Scholar Program, which was established at PUC in 2009 to recognize the late Malcolm and Eileen Maxwell, former president and first lady of PUC. Applicants must meet GPA and test-score requirements and the ranking of their applications is based on resumes, an essay, and letters of recommendation.

The Maxwell Scholars who have been awarded this scholarship for the 2010/2011 academic year are Matthew Dopp of Oceanside, Calif., an Escondido Adventist Academy student; Newbury Park Adventist Academy student Josue Tobar of Palmdale, Calif.; Dustin Davis, a Paradise Adventist Academy student from Paradise, Calif; Shenandoah Valley Academy student Meena Kim of Falls Church, Virginia; and Alesha Heinz from Martinez, Calif., who graduated from Capstone Academy.

Each of these sport long resumes full of achievements and involvement such as class and church leadership, varsity sports, academic recognition, and participation in other school and community projects. In addition, they each have had unique experiences that make them well rounded individuals, from Davis helping to start a Christians in Action organization to Dopp getting involved in aid work in Micronesia, Mexico, rural Jamaica, and the Navajo Nation. Kim has worked as a teacher's aid for three years, Tobar studied in Bogenhofen, Austria, and Wahlen has run his own cookie business and is a swimming instructor.

This year's semi-finalists received $10,000 renewable scholarships. They are Ryan Julius of Napa High School; Caitlin Hanson of Forest Lake Christian School; Gina Lee of West Salem High School; and Erika Weidemann, a home school student.

For more information about the Maxwell Scholar program or other scholarship opportunities at PUC, go to www.puc.edu/scholarships