Academies Attend Twenty-third Publication Workshop

By Cambria Wheeler on September 13, 2013

Share this


Over 175 students and sponsors from twenty-one academies came to campus September 3-5, 2013, for PUC’s twenty-third Publication Workshop. The annual event is an opportunity for the staff of academy yearbooks, newspapers, and other publications to gain the knowledge and inspiration to plan and execute their best publications.

John Osio, a teacher at Pine Hills Adventist Academy in Auburn, Calif., brought a group of yearbook students to the workshop. “My students that attend always walk away with added excitements about elements they want to include or improve upon in our yearbook,” Osio explains. “Publication Workshop really provides them with those tools.”

This year, twenty presenters taught over fifty sessions on vital publication skills. Students learned how to utilize design and photography software; strengthen writing, design, and photography skills; and edit video yearbooks. Professionals from the publications industry, educators, college student leaders, and recent PUC graduates presented each session. Rajeev Sigamoney, an award-winning filmmaker and screenwriter who recently won a $10,000 prize at the 2013 Sonscreen Film Festival, gave the keynote address. Sigamoney is the director of PUC’s film and television program in the department of visual arts.

“It is our hope that the Publication Workshop will provide these students with spiritual insight, leadership skills, and the knowledge they need to enhance their school publications,” shared workshop directors Milbert Mariano and Patrick Vogelpohl.

The closing program of the workshop included awards for academies that had submitted copies of their publications prior to the workshop. Winners included Thunderbird Academy for Excellence in Publishing (Yearbook); Sacramento Adventist Academy for Excellence in Publishing—Junior Academy/Elementary (Yearbook); Loma Linda Academy for Excellence in Writing (Newspaper) and Excellence in Publishing (Newspaper); PUC Preparatory School for Excellence in Photography (Yearbook); Ramona Union Academy for Excellence in Layout & Design (Yearbook); and Mesa Grande Academy for Excellence in Cover Design (Yearbook) and Excellence in Video Yearbook Editing.