Student Life

Sexual Misconduct, Relationship Violence, and Stalking PUC’s Policy, Procedures, and Resources

Our Commitment

Pacific Union College is committed to maintaining a respectful learning and living environment that is free from sexual misconduct, domestic violence, dating violence, and stalking. Acts of sexual misconduct, relationship violence, and stalking in any form, regardless of the length of the relationship or gender of the individuals, are inconsistent with this commitment, strictly prohibited and intolerable.

This policy addresses PUC’s responsibilities regarding Title IX and the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2013; Sec 304. Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972 prohibits discrimination from educational programs and activities on the basis of sex (gender) in educational programs and activities that receive federal assistance. The Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act expects that colleges have procedures in place to respond to matters of sexual misconduct, domestic and dating violence and stalking (collectively, misconduct).

PUC provides preventive education regarding sexual misconduct and discrimination. Below are links to individuals and entities available for assistance, information, and educational resources:

View PUC's Sexual Misconduct Policy

Reporting, Questions, or Concerns

All members of the PUC community have the right to make a report to PUC Public Safety, local law enforcement, and/or state police or choose not to report; to report the incident PUC; to be protected by PUC from retaliation for reporting an incident; and to receive assistance and resources from PUC.

Any student, staff, or faculty member who has concerns about sexual or related misconduct—including gender-based harassment, sexual harassment, sexual assault, domestic and dating violence, stalking, sexual exploitation, or other forms of sexual misconduct—is encouraged to seek assistance from those listed below.  The Title IX coordinator and deputy coordinators will provide information on resources for assistance and option to address concerns.

The coordinators will maintain your privacy to the greatest extent possible, but are not confidential resources. For confidential help, please visit our list of resources.

Title IX Coordinator

Tanya Healy
(707) 965-6226
thealy@puc.edu

Title IX DeputyCoordinators

Lunelle Bertress
Dean of Graf Hall, Women’s Residence
(541) 863-9540
lbertress@puc.edu

Jean Buller, Faculty, Department of Education
(707 965-7266
jbuller@puc.edu

Jaymie de la Torre, Assistant for Visual Arts
(707) 965-6604
jhdelatorre@puc.edu

Abram Fisher, Faculty, Department of
Business Administration & Economics
(707) 965-6521
afisher@puc.edu

Holly Jeske, Wellness Coordinator
(707) 965-6330
hjeske@puc.edu

Peter Katz, Faculty, Department of English
(707) 965-6611
pjkatz@puc.edu

Stacy Nelson, Director of Human Resources
(707) 965-6221
snelson@puc.edu

Crista Peterson, International Student Advisor
(707) 965-7362
cpeterson@puc.edu

Leah Turcotte, Athletics Trainer
(707) 965-6652
lturcotte@puc.edu

Residence Hall Deans
Ask for Dean on Duty
(707) 965-6313

External inquiries or reports can be made at any time to:

Office for Civil Rights (OCR)
U.S. Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202-1100
Customer Service Hotline #: (800) 421-3481
Facsimile: (202) 453-6012
TDD#: (877) 521-2172
OCR@ed.gov
http://www.ed.gov/ocr

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
http://www.eeoc.gov/contact